Jump to navigation Jump to search
Mongolia. World factbook map, 2006

Mongolia is a highland on the continent of Asia, which used to belong to Russia, but was shared in the 1950s by China, Russia and the ex-People's Republic of Mongolia (also known as Mongolia or Mongol Uls). In Inner Mongolia, the smaller southern division of the country, the Krimmer Mennonite Brethren of America opened a mission in the city of Chotzeshan (Cho-tzushan or Zhuozishan), about 250 miles (400 km) north of Peking, with several subsidiary stations. Buildings were erected for evangelization, school, and hospital. The inhabitants of the city and the district showed a wish for the Gospel and participated actively in the services. The establishment of the Communist regime in China in 1950 put an end to the mission.


Hege, Christian and Christian Neff. Mennonitisches Lexikon, 4 vols. Frankfurt & Weierhof: Hege; Karlsruhe: Schneider, 1913-1967: v. III: 160.

Author(s) Christian Hege
Date Published 1957

Cite This Article

MLA style

Hege, Christian. "Mongolia." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. 1957. Web. 17 Apr 2024.

APA style

Hege, Christian. (1957). Mongolia. Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved 17 April 2024, from


Adapted by permission of Herald Press, Harrisonburg, Virginia, from Mennonite Encyclopedia, Vol. 3, p. 740. All rights reserved.

©1996-2024 by the Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. All rights reserved.