Lembach, a village west of Wissembourg in Lower Alsace, near the border of the Palatinate. The region is mountainous and picturesque with many old ruins. There were once many Mennonite families here. At the close of the Thirty Years' War Swiss Mennonite refugees settled here, welcomed by the barons of Fleckenstein to rebuild their extensive lands in Lower Alsace. They held their meetings on the Froensburg, an estate at the foot of Froensburg castle; some of the Palatine Mennonites met with them. The membership steadily declined. Emigration to Bavaria, Poland, and America took large numbers; the fact that they lived widely scattered hastened the decline. When Froensburg passed into other hands the congregation met in a rented hall at Hirschtal in the Palatinate, and finally on the Fleckensteinerhof in Alsace. When this farm also passed into non-Mennonite hands the members no longer met. There were only a few families left. The Palatine families went to Ixheim (Zweibrücken), the Alsatians to Geisberg. The last elders of Lembach were Peter Jordy of the Fleckensteinerhof and Joseph Guth of the Barenbrunnerhof near Busenberg.
Hege, Christian and Christian Neff. Mennonitisches Lexikon, 4 vols. Frankfurt & Weierhof: Hege; Karlsruhe: Schneider, 1913-1967: v. II, 636.
 Cite This Article
Sommer, Pierre. "Lembach (Alsace, France)." Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. 1958. Web. 21 Jan 2017. http://gameo.org/index.php?title=Lembach_(Alsace,_France)&oldid=144282.
Sommer, Pierre. (1958). Lembach (Alsace, France). Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. Retrieved 21 January 2017, from http://gameo.org/index.php?title=Lembach_(Alsace,_France)&oldid=144282.
©1996-2017 by the Global Anabaptist Mennonite Encyclopedia Online. All rights reserved.